I Am a Woman – A Manifesta (Reposted in Honor of International Women’s Day

I am a woman, and I will stop apologizing for that. I will stop apologizing for being fat, for still feeling beautiful.I will stop apologizing for torturing myself with societies standards, magazine covers and people who disagree that i am beautiful beyond measure.

I am a woman and I will not be sorry, not today or tomorrow and hopefully never again. I will not be sorry that I like food, and laughter, that i like to fuck and be held, that i cry, and need to be heard.

I am a woman and I will not let my self worth be defined by ANYBODY else but me including marie claire magazine or psychology today. I will not display my body in exchange for a bill of goods bought and sold by men, women, governments and media.

I am black, and i will not barter my POWER because of it, I will not shrink, I will not die, I will not fold into stereotypes and statistics. I will not apologize for my hair, or nose, my statue or natural glow. I will not be sorry that I don’t wear makeup or heels. I will not be sorry for my arms, my hands, my feet, my legs, my lips, my breasts, my voice, my mind, my spirit, my soul, my flesh, my wants.

I will be tall without apology, I will not sit in the back of the room, or bus, or school, or office. I will love myself with passion and purpose. I will be a proverbs woman. I will no longer accept what is unworthy of me.

I am a woman, i can carry babies and civilizations. I can write anthologies and histories, I can be griot and worshiper, I can hold church and life. I can keep homes and secrets. I can read books and minds.

I am a woman i will defy all logic but God’s, I will remember I am made in his image, I will live in my highest consciousness. I will be everything I am meant to be.

I am a woman and I will stop apologizing for me……

Leave a Reply

